you're reading...
Native Rights and Issues

Urgent Call to Glen Cove

GVRD are meeting TODAY to discuss taking legal action, which means ARRESTS, for the people keeping vigil at Glen Cove shellmound. There is an urgent call for people to please physically go to Glen Cove, make phone calls, email to get people involved who can help, and show support for the ancestral burial remains that GVRD wants to bulldoze and build toilets and a parking lot on top of Glen Cove sacred site. How would anyone feel if toilets were built on top of your grandparents graves. For the residents of Vallejo there is a park a few blocks away with toilets that GVRD doesn’t even take of as it is and Vallejo is literally bankrupt. GVRD wants to waste 1.5 million dollars on unneeded toilets and a parking lot built on top of a known burial site.

Contact to tell them not to desecrate Glen Cove shellmound sacred burial grounds:

e-mail : nahc@pacbell.net

California Native American Heritage Commission
915 Capitol Mall, Room 364
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 653-4082

Governor Jerry Brown
c/o State Capitol, Suite 1173
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-2841
Fax: (916) 558-3160
http://gov.ca.gov/m_contact.php

Osby Davis, City of Vallejo Mayor
707-648-4377
555 Santa Clara St
Vallejo, CA 94590
mayor@ci.vallejo.ca.us

Carone & Company, Inc.
(contractors hired by GVRD to desecrate Glen Cove):
(925) 602-8800
5009 Forni Drive, Concord, CA 94520

Greater Vallejo Recreation District
707-648-4600
Shane McAffee, General Manager
395 Amador St.
Vallejo, CA 94590

Greater Vallejo Recreation District
395 Amador Street
Vallejo, Ca 94590
(707) 648-4600
FAX (707) 648-4616
http://www.gvrd.org

CONTACT INFORMATION

Shane McAffee, General Manager
smcaffee@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4603
Board of Directors
BoardofDirectors@gvrd.org
Romi Selfaison, Finance Director
rselfaison@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4617
Philip Mccoy, Recreation Superintendent
pmccoy@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4646
Steve Pressley, Maintenance & Development Manager
spressley@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4602
Christina Corse, Administrative Support Supervisor
ccorse@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4604
Mary Cagnolatti, Recreation Coordinator (Foley Cultural Center)
mcagnolatti@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4630
Jessica Ford, Recreation Coordinator (Vallejo Community Center)
jford@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4640
Frederick Cunningham, Recreation Coordinator (North Vallejo Community Center)
fcunningham@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4609
Justin Saroyan, Recreation Coordinator (Aquatics)
jsaroyan@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4663
Anthony Kenaston, Recreation Coordinator (Sports)
akenaston@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4611
Ceola Corella, Recreation Coordinator (Youth)
ccorella@gvrd.org
Telephone: 707-648-4483
Peni Basalusalu, Recreation Coordinator (Youth)
pbasalusalu@gvrd.org Telephone: 707-648-4483

“The 15-acre Glen Cove Shellmound site (registered CA-SOL 236) is one of the oldest known shellmounds in the San Pablo Bay. Known as “Sogorea Te,” this site was first documented in archeological records in 1907 by an archeologist from the University of California and, according to a 1988 report by Novato Archeological Resource Service, is at least 3,500 to 4,000 years old . . . At the Vallejo site, intact skeletal remains and cremations have been documented along with mortars and pestles, arrowheads, spear points, eagle claws, bear teeth, bird-bone whistles, and many ceremonial feather/shell jewelry ornaments. It is literally the many layers of generations that actually form the shellmound; it is a sacred site, the final resting place for the ancestors of many different California tribes.” from Intercontinental Cry article.

Via AIM Southern California

Advertisements

About CRG

Editor in Chief of the Voice of the Indigenous, Writer.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: