you're reading...
Domestic Abuse

Prevention of Violence Against Women Week – Urban Women’s Anti-Violence Strategy

Prevention of Violence Against Women Week – Urban Women’s Anti-Violence Strategy

Read the blog here: http://www.bwss.org/2011/04/prevention-of-violence-against-women-week-april-18-25-2011/

Sexual violence, it seems, is the one crime where we blame the victim and not the perpetrator. Frequently, women who are attacked are told, “You should have been more careful,” or, “You shouldn’t have put yourself in that situation.” Routinely women who have been raped are asked the questions “WHAT were you wearing?” “What did you drink?” “Who were you with?” “Why couldn’t you sense a potential attacker?” Research tells us that sexual violence perpetration is a heavily gendered crime. Approximately 98-99% of sexual violence – reported to police or anonymously reported in research – is perpetrated by men. And we don’t ask the question “Why do men rape?”

Recently, there have been several instances where public officials have publicly exposed victim blaming sentiments and have faced consequences:

In Toronto, Students and staff at Osgoode Hall Law School are demanding an apology and explanation from the Toronto Police Service after one of their officers suggested women can avoid sexual assault by not dressing like a “slut”. http://www.torontolife.com/daily/informer/city-sindex/2011/02/17/toronto-cop-reportedly-tells-students-to-avoid-sexual-assault-by-not-dressing-%E2%80%9Clike-a-slut%E2%80%9D/

In Winnipeg, MB, protesters call for resignation after judge allows victim blaming sentiments inform his sentence of a convicted rapist http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBxodavkiJc

In Manitoba, ‘No woman asks to be raped’: Victim slams judge’s decision
http://news.nationalpost.com/2011/02/25/no-woman-asks-to-be-raped-victim-slams-judges-decision/

In Vancouver, BC, Women Respond to Comments by Reverend Ric Matthews of First United Church

http://vancouver.mediacoop.ca/newsrelease/6496

In Surrey, BC, Green Party Candidate resigns over rape comment

http://www.thestar.com/news/canada/politics/article/974569–green-party-candidate-resigns-over-rape-comment-on-facebook

In the US, an alliance of men have spoken out against victim blaming and issued a call to other men

http://www.kevinpowell.net/blog/2011/04/men-speak-out-about-sexist-coverage-of-rape-a-call-to-action/

Prevention of Violence Against Women Week – April 18 to 25, 2011.

This year, Urban Women’s Anti-Violence Strategy an alliance between Vancouver Rape Relief and Women’s Shelter, Act II Safe Choice, Women Against Violence Against Women (WAVAW), YWCA Munroe House and Battered Women’s Support Services (BWSS) have teamed up again to focus on sexual violence against girls & women.

To participate in the conversation and to take action check out BWSS Battered Women’s Support Services Facebook page BWSS Facebook Group and follow us on Twitter here Ending Violence

Urban Women’s Anti-Violence Strategy

Over the years, Vancouver and the province of British Columbia has experienced a death by a thousand cuts as services and the network of support for women survivors of violence are being dismantled. Further the pursuit of liberation and equality for women remains elusive as systemic policies and practices are regressing while violence against girls and women continues as an epidemic.

In 2009, in unprecedented form, the feminist women’s organizations in Vancouver joined together to raise awareness by holding events and mobilizing direct action during Prevention of Violence Against Women Week in April.

We’re working to provide critical and essential support services, while working to end violence against girls and women.

To join our work email us at endingviolence@bwss.org .

Urban Women’s Anti-Violence Strategy 2010 Death Does NOT Become Her

Urban Women’s Anti-Violence Strategy 2009 Critical and Essential Services

Submitted by Angela Marie MacDougall

About James Morales

I am a choctaw and a member of the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians. I grew up in the Conehatta coummunity and attended the Conehatta Indian School. CEO - Native Hoop Inc President - Native Hoop Management President - Native Emergency Relief & Volunteer Agency, Inc Executive Producer - Voices of the Hoop Executive Producer - N8tive Soundz & Newz Executive Producer - The Hoop

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Prevention of Violence Against Women Week – Urban Women’s Anti-Violence Strategy

  1. Violence comes in many forms; as an aborginal woman and mother, I am starting my life ovr, I left with nothing and as much as I’ve toyed with the idea of change, it is not up to me to seek that change. It took me four years to realize my situation, now that I am away and my kids are safe, we’re happy, its just gonna take sum time for recovery. My background is justice, it don’t matter how educated one is, violence can affect anyone. If you or anyone is in trouble, lend a helping hand and just be supportive. I am glad thr are ppl like u and many others that support for healthy change!

    Posted by Tammy Crier | April 19, 2011, 2:29 pm
  2. Hey, let’s start blaming the ‘rich’ folks who get robbed! Dressing in fancy suits and Italian shoes signifies wealth, and they are to blame for advertising their money when they get robbed! Same with people living in big houses. Another advertisement to crooks that says, Rob me , I have lots of money and goodies to steal.”

    I am a man, and a victim of domestic violence. Even after I became handicapped my ex still would beat on me. I was raised to respect women and never hit a woman. I did nothing to ‘ask for’ getting treated the way I was. I was nice, kind, and tried my best to take care of her and my child. I eventually had to leave the house, because the cops wouldn’t even throw her out!! The able bodied person breaks the crippled man’s leg and she gets to stay in the home with a disabled son???? Eventually, I moved out and share custody of our son with her, which still baffles me. Violent people have no place with kids – they belong locked up until they can learn to keep their hands to themselves!!! Rape is a crime of power, just as bullying and armed robbery and many other crimes – one person feels they have to ‘show’ the other that they are strong and powerful, so they pick on those who are not as violent in their reactions, usually people who have been raised to respect others. I have discovered that, at least in the courts I have experienced, the judges do the least work they have to – they don’t drop the boom on lawbreakers, they go for the middle ground. Because of that, my son, who cannot defend himself or tell me when his mom hurts him, has to spend time with a woman with proven violent tendencies. I can do nothing because I don’tt have the heaps of money required to take her back to court. I spent over $3,000 that I had to borrow from my brothers for the lousy result I have now – she has more time with my son, and I have to pay half the cost of the ‘counselor’ she hired!! There is no justice for those with less money. I heard a rich lady on
    TV one time say “there is one law for the poor, and no law for the rich.”

    Posted by Brendan "Bull" Mikus | April 20, 2011, 5:40 pm

Leave a Reply

